Skilled Savannah Domestic Violence Defense Attorney
Reliable and Aggressive Advocacy to Defend You Against Your Charges
Charged with domestic violence? Accused of violating the terms of a protective order? Domestic violence is a serious crime in Georgia with penalties amounting to thousands in fines and years in prison. Attorney Jennifer L. Ozer is an aggressive defense attorney who balances an easy-going and relatable demeanor in the office to relieve the stress of a criminal charge. She will handle the legal side while you focus on recovering from a criminal charge. Our firm cares about the outcome and will strategize an effective defense against your charges.
Schedule a free consultation online to get started on your defense with The Ozer Law Firm, LLC.
What Is Considered a Crime of Domestic Violence?
Georgia law defines domestic violence, or family violence, as a felony or misdemeanor for battery, assault, stalking, criminal damage to property, unlawful restraint, or criminal trespass committed against a family or household member. Such an individual may be a:
- current or former spouse;
- parent or child;
- stepparent or stepchild;
- foster parent or foster child; or
- person currently or formerly living in the same household (e.g., roommate, sibling, dating partner, extended family member).
Consequences Upon Conviction
The penalties for conviction can be serious, ranging from the misdemeanor to the felony level depending on the nature of the crime. For instance, a crime of stalking carries up to 1-10 years in jail and a $1,000 fine, while aggravated stalking carries 1-10 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
Note that, in addition to committing family violence, it is also a serious crime to violate a protective order. Any defendant who has a family violence protective order against them can be punished by being held in contempt of court and even charged criminally. Violating a protective order is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 12 months in jail and $1,000 in fines.
Georgia also allows law enforcement to make arrests based on probable cause that an act of domestic violence occurred or a person violated a protective order. However, police officers may only arrest the primary aggressor where 2 or more opposing parties allege domestic violence, and they must make an effort to identify the aggressor. In a case where a person is arrested without a warrant and charged, they cannot bail out until they appear before a judge.
Those convicted of domestic violence may also lose their firearm privileges. Georgia law authorizes judges to include firearm restrictions when entering temporary protective orders (TPOs) for alleged victims requesting protection, and if a permanent order is entered, federal law prohibits the defendant from having a firearm. A person who violates this prohibition against firearm possession faces additional penalties of 1-10 years in prison.
If you have been accused of domestic violence, whether this is your first accusation or you have been accused of violating a protective order against you, The Ozer Law Firm, LLC can help you. We balance aggressive representation with easy-going counsel to ensure that you receive well-rounded legal support as a defendant. Domestic violence accusations are serious, and even misdemeanor convictions could have a serious detriment to your present and future.
Schedule a free consultation with The Ozer Law Firm, LLC to discuss your defense options today.
“Jennifer Ozer responded to my email promptly with great direction.” - Cody S.
“She's a warrior for justice. She's unflinching and steady. And she's the most phenomenal attorney I could have ever asked for!” - Weetzie B.
“Jennifer was so supportive and available for all of our questions!” - Krystal R.